First Anniversary of my “Sabbatical” Year

IMG_7166A year ago today, I took off from Toronto, Canada, and started my so-called sabbatical year. It has been a very rewarding experience full of ups and downs, and I am grateful for everyone of you who has motivated me along the way. This trip would not have been possible without your support.

I used to question myself if I was wasting time but not anymore. My experiences living abroad has enriched my perspectives and understandings of the world. I have learned a lot more about myself and have become much happier about who I am. The people I met have also shown me how to be a better being.

 

In numbers, I have:
Taken 28 long and short bus trips;
Taken 26 long and short train rides;
Taken 18 legs of flight;
Taken 12 Blablacar trips;
Taken 4 ferry rides;
Stayed in 23 Airbnb;
Couchsurfed 12 times;
Joined 6 free and paid tours;
Finished 19 freelance projects.

This is not the end yet… Is it bad if I am already thinking about the next sabbatical year when this first one hasn’t finished? =P

P.S. The photo was taken at Les Galeries de la Tour in Lyon after the staff heard that it was my first anniversary traveling. The amazing sculptures are artworks by Armenian artist, Ashot Gevorgyan.

 

About ChinaLatina

Creative • Art Director • Traveler. Food + books + movies. China-Latina born in Hong Kong, traveling through Europe. martha-lee.com
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Couchsurfing, Trivia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

