Unintended Bargaining in Marrakech

IMG_4621

One evening in Marrakech, I was looking for pocket tissue and I found a woman street seller. I pointed at the entire pack to indicate that I wanted to buy the whole pack, but the lady kept telling me that it was 2 dirham each (USD$0.20). Two other vendors nearby saw us and came to help. They translated for us and told me that the 15+3 pack costed “two twenty dirham bills.” Since 18 x 2 = 36, I gave a face that was like “you are crazy” and turned away. The guys immediately said “TWENTY! TWENTY!” I hesitated because the lady was apparently whining, but the guys assured me that it’d be twenty and handed me the whole pack. So, I took it, gave one of the guys twenty dirhams and walked away quickly. I could hear the man and the lady arguing behind me…

About ChinaLatina

Creative • Art Director • Traveler. Food + books + movies. China-Latina born in Hong Kong, traveling through Europe. martha-lee.com
This entry was posted in Morocco and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

